3 ingredient chocolate spread

Hello! Yes I know I’ve been a bit quiet recently, and I need to do a proper post to fill you in on what’s been going on, but for now here’s a tasty little something to keep you going 🙂

Incredibly easy, sugar free, vegan, 3 ingredient chocolate spread! If that doesn’t sound like Christmas come early I’m not sure what will! Haha

Ingredients (makes 1 jar)

1 cup of dates
3-4 tbsp cocoa powder
2 tbsp coconut oil

Roughly chop the dates and soak them until they are soft. Drain and put them in a food processor. Give them a quick blitz then add the cocoa powder and coconut oil before blitzing again until the mixture is smooth.

Transfer to a clean jar and keep in the fridge. Enjoy! (See, I told you it was incredibly easy!)

image

So far I have tried it on toast, oatcakes, and let’s be honest here: straight off a spoon. It is delicious!

image

You can see it’s not quite as smooth as commercial chocolate spread but I could probably have made it a bit smoother in the blender. Also I imagine this would also be delicious as a cake frosting as it has a slightly fudge-y quality to it.

I hope that has tickled your taste buds 😉

Leave a Reply

