Syria refugee crisis

Sorry to bring a depressing tone to the blog, but this is just too important. Actually, no, I’m not sorry. If being sad, angry and horrified at the images of poor drowned children is what it takes for us to sit up, take notice and do something to help then that’s what we should do.

That poor boy who has made front covers today was only 3 years old. 3. The same age as my biggest boy. His name was Aylan Kurdi. He had a 5 year old brother who also drowned, along with their mother, as they attempted to escape from horrors most of us can’t even imagine. They were not, as some would have you believe, just out to milk our benefits system for all they could. That attitude is so monumentally stupid and offensive that I’m actually flabbergasted. Obviously some people really do not have any humanity.

Last night I could barely sleep as every time I closed my eyes all I could see were those poor children.

I’ve set up a local Facebook group and today I have organised a meeting at my local library to kick start local fundraising, and also encourage more people to donate to charities such as CalAid who are helping refugees who have already made the journey to Europe and are now living in camps. These people have nothing and they desperately need our help.

I’m also going to organise a knitting drive to make blankets so stay tuned for more on that.

If there is already a local effort where you live then join in. If there isn’t, then take the initiative and get something organised. Being sad and doing nothing about it is not going to help. Get angry. Get motivated. Get organising.

I have no idea what I’m doing, but I’m going to figure it out as I go. I’ve never organised a coffee morning before but that won’t stop me. I can’t just sit and do nothing. I’m just sorry it’s taken me this long.

Leave a Reply

