Granny’s impossible pie

I’m sure this recipe has a proper name, but in our family it’s known as Granny’s impossible pie, for fairly self explanatory reasons. It’s called impossible pie because it all gets mixed in one bowl then poured into a pie dish where it ‘magically’ forms two distinct layers like a pastry pie. Well, it’s magical when you’re little, as an adult I quickly realised it’s because the coconut floats in the mixture. (Yes, I was sad when I realised it wasn’t Granny’s magic…)

I used to love it but (to me) it tasted so eggy that I went off it when I went off eggs. I tried making it once using an egg replacer but it just didn’t work, the flavour was fine but the texture just wasn’t quite right.

But thanks to the wonder that is aquafaba, I am now able to enjoy this tasty pud again without the eggy-ness and with the right texture. Perfect! I do hope my Granny would like it 🙂

Ingredients

  • 6 tbsps aquafaba
  • 4 oz sugar
  • 8 fl oz soya milk
  • 1 oz flour
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 oz melted margarine
  • 4 oz dessicated coconut

The instructions are so simple: preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius. Mix all the ingredients in the order listed above. Pour the mixture into a pie dish and bake for 30 minutes until the top turns a light golden brown.

I served it with some aquafaba marshmallow fluff and fresh Scottish strawberries. Delicious!

image

Note: If you use a smaller pie dish you will have a better definition between the layers. Unfortunately I only have a small pie dish and a large one and nothing in between. I think I need to shop!

One thought on “Granny’s impossible pie

Leave a Reply

