New kitchen floor, wedding anniversary and delicious cake!

Well it was a week of hard work last week (made harder by having baby boy in tow) but we now have a lovely new kitchen floor! We decided to go for a Moroccan stone effect laminate from Wickes which is suitable for use in kitchens.

image

And it turns out that pattern drafting is a very handy transferable skill when laying laminate flooring! Thanks to being able to cut out the funny angles needed in our kitchen (I’m pretty sure there’s not a single right angle in our house) we had very little waste and in fact have an extra pack to go back to the shop. Excellent!

We’ve still to trim the kick boards and reattach them under the units, and find a matching scotia for along the skirting boards, but they are much smaller jobs. At least we have a dry and functioning kitchen again!

Thankfully all that was last week and not this so it didn’t spoil our 5th wedding anniversary! I can’t believe 5 years has flashed passed so fast since that lovely sunny day back in 2010

image

To celebrate I made us a delicious tropical pineapple and coconut cake (which I shall share the recipe for in a separate post). It was incredibly delicious (if I do say so myself!) and I’m sure is one that I will make again!

image

And no, I don’t have a photo of the whole cake as it was cut before I realised!

Leave a Reply

