Vegan lemon curd

I suspect some of you, especially those who know my husband, will know why I had to learn to make lemon curd shortly after learning to make meringue, but that’s a recipe for tomorrow! 😉

Today I made a really delicious egg and dairy free lemon curd, which is one thing I have definitely missed since becoming lactose intolerant. Especially as I made a petty good ‘regular’ lemon curd, if I do say so myself! Which does make me now wonder why I waited so long to try a vegan version, but hey ho!

This recipe is not too tart, not too sweet, but still nice and zingy. Yum!

Ingredients

1 1/4 cups lemon juice (I used 5 fresh lemons and topped it up with bottled juice, my lemons must have been smaller than I thought!)
1 1/4 cups sugar (I used 1 cup of caster sugar and 1/4 cup stevia)
Zest from 2 lemons (optional but I think it really adds to the lemony flavour)
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbsps coconut milk
3 tbsps cornflour mixed with 3 tbsps cold water
2 tbsps vegan margarine

In a saucepan combine the lemon juice, zest, salt and sugar and stir continuously while heating over a medium heat until the sugar has completely dissolved.

Then add the coconut milk and cornflour and water mixture and continue stirring until the mixture starts to thicken and a few bubbles start to appear on the surface. This can take several minutes so keep stirring!

At this point add the margarine and stir stir stir! You’ll need to keep stirring until the mixture starts to thicken and resembles a custard-like consistency. This will take another few minutes.

Pour the curd into a heatproof container and cool completely before transferring it into the fridge. Cool it in the fridge for at least 2 hours before scoffing using. Enjoy!

image

And if you can manage not to eat the whole lot, I’ll be back with another use for it!

One thought on “Vegan lemon curd

  1. Pingback: Lemon meringue pie! Well, sort of… | ...by Catriona

Leave a Reply

