Our windfall!

Apples! I’m talking apples 😉 Although it would be nice if someone wanted to give me a big ‘ol chunk of money too! Haha

Our neighbour has a beautiful apple tree in his front garden that has been covered in big, lovely looking apples for the last few months. And given the strong winds we’ve had over the last few days, most of these apples have fallen off. Which is a bit of a shame as last year I was able to collect them right up until mid December.

What I just can’t get my head around is why nobody else, including the owner, is interested in collecting them!? Most of the apples fall right onto the pavement, so anybody could pick some up. Whenever young sir and I are out with a bag we always have people stop and chat saying things like “oh they look nice!”, ” you’ll enjoy those!”, “they look like good cooking apples” and yet not try one for themselves. I don’t get it!

So on Saturday we collected a big carrier bag full and brought them home:

And I spent the evening with a little production line. I started with washing them (they did fall on the pavement and the road after all), then peeling and chopping them, before adding them to my biggest pot. In the pot with the apples was just water and a glug of lemon juice to stop them going too brown. I didn’t add sugar as I wanted the flexibility to add it later depending on what I use the apples for.

image

image

I cooked the apples for 20 minutes once they had come to the boil (they probably didn’t need quite that long but I was dealing with a meltdown of the toddler variety and that’s how long they got!).

image

Then they were blitzed in the food processor and I ended up with this huge bowlful of apple purée!

image

That’s about 3 litres of apple purée that I’ve been able put in the freezer, all for the cost of the gas to cook them. A winter of crumbles, pies and whatever else I feel inspired to make. Yum!

I’d boast to the neighbours but I still don’t think it’d make a difference! I suspect young sir and I will have our own personal apple tree for a while to come 🙂

Leave a Reply

