Vegan whipped cream

OK, so I realise I’m a little late to this party and I’m only just discovering something lots of people already know about, but how amazingly delicious is whipped coconut cream?! I don’t really know why I just assumed there wouldn’t be a vegan alternative, but I’m so glad there is. Because it’s amazing!

Basic coconut whipped cream

1 tin of full fat coconut milk
2-3 tbsps icing sugar

Chill the coconut milk in the fridge overnight, this will cause the contents of the tin to separate into the solid cream we’ll be using, which will float on the top, and the water underneath. Open the tin without shaking it first! If you shake it at this point it will mix together and you’ll have to start again!

Carefully spoon out the solid cream into a bowl, trying not to pick up any of the water as this will affect the consistency of your whipped cream. Add the icing sugar, then using an electric mixer whip your cream to the desired texture making sure you don’t leave any lumps.

image

Add to your creation and enjoy! I found that one tin was enough to fill a 10 inch cake, with plenty left over for a posh cream tea in a day or two 🙂 Now, if you’ll excuse me there’s cake calling my name…

Variations

Try flavouring your cream with a little natural extract for an extra hit of flavour, eg vanilla, almond, lemon maybe? Not tried that but it sounds nice so I might give it a try.

I also feel a tiramisu style dessert coming in the near future so watch this space for more coconut-y deliciousness!

One thought on “Vegan whipped cream

  1. Pingback: Eton mess | ...by Catriona

Leave a Reply

