Bramble picking, or: why I’m covered in nettle stings

It has been a glorious afternoon so young sir and I headed over to my parents house for a spot of bramble picking. (Brambles are also known as blackberries if you’re wondering!)

Unfortunately a certain young man got too excited by the prospect and promptly fell asleep once he left the house!

image

Good for my mum and me though as we were able to keep everything we picked, instead of the usual pick one, eat four when our helper is awake!

I may have become a bit obsessed, getting just a little stuck in the bushes at one point! And it is definitely much easier to balance on one leg for better reach without a big ‘ol bump on my front. I just wish the brambles weren’t quite so spiky or quite so intertwined with the nettles. Note to self: remember gardening gloves next time!

image

But still, I had lots of fun. I love picking wild food, I really wish I knew more about what else I could be collecting, I’m sure there must be so much right under my nose that I have no idea about.

Once our containers were full overflowing, our little assistant finally woke up so we had a walk along to say hello to the cows.

image

But they were all lying down and didn’t want to come and say hi. So we wandered slowly, eating more brambles, and admiring the view.

image

It’s such a lovely place to go for a walk, do you see the Forth Bridges in the background?

I do like a nice trip home 🙂 Especially when there’s nearly a kilo of fresh wild fruit involved!

One thought on “Bramble picking, or: why I’m covered in nettle stings

  1. Pingback: Individual bramble crumbles | ...by Catriona

Leave a Reply

