Easy Peasy Pea Soup

Ever buy a really disappointing bag of frozen peas? I did the other day, and after having some with dinner I immediately knew I didn’t want to eat the rest of the bag like that. They were what my mum would call “chucky”, very hard on the outside and not much flavour. This was a slight problem as the bag was over a kilo! But no matter, as I decided to make the remainder into pea soup instead.

Ingredients

4 large cloves of garlic
1 large onion
2 large carrots
Spinach (we have frozen spinach as we never get through the fresh stuff fast enough to justify buying it. It comes in portion sized blocks and I used 6 of them. So if you wanted to use fresh I would guess at 300/400g)
1kg frozen peas
1.5l vegetable stock
Mint (fresh or dried)
Salt and pepper

It was very simple to make: I fried the garlic and onion until soft, diced and added the carrots, made up the stock using 4tsps bouillon powder and 1.5l water, added it to the pot, put in the spinach and peas and brought it to the boil. I turned it down to a simmer for about 15 minutes and then whizzed it up with the hand blender.

Then came the only chef-y bit. I passed the soup through a sieve and into another pot to get rid of the hard pea skins that made them disappointing in the first place. It was a bit fiddly, but if you use the back of a ladle to swirl the soup around the sieve then it goes through much easier.

I then returned it to a low heat, added 2tsps dried mint, salt and pepper, gave it a good stir and it was ready. And from very disappointing beginnings the peas made a lovely tasty lunch!

image

Leave a Reply

