Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

Oh. My. Word. Where has this been all my life?! This recipe is creamy, delicious and, unlike some dairy-free ice creams, actually freezes well.

It starts with the sweet cream base I used for the vegan vanilla ice cream but with a slight variation:

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup soya cream
  • 1 cup soya milk (we use less soya milk in this recipe as there is liquid added with the coffee)
  • 1/2 cup sugar

Flavouring:

  • 2 double espressos (add more or less coffee depending how strong a coffee flavour you want, I found 1 double wasn’t enough though)

Add the milk, cream and sugar to a bowl and whisk to dissolve the sugar. Make the coffee, but make sure you let it cool before adding to the mixture to prevent it from curdling. I then added the mixture to my ice cream maker and let it do it’s thing, and voila! Delicious ice cream in less time than going to the shop to buy some 🙂

Note: I added some cracked coffee beans to the mix. I think this was a mistake though and I’m not going to do it again! I think if you had some chocolate coated coffee beans then these would be good added whole to the mix, but the cracked beans just got stuck in my teeth without adding much to the flavour. Also this turned out to be a double quantity for my ice cream maker so we had to have it on consecutive nights… The hardship!

Variation:

I am going to try the recipe again but vary it a little by using hazelnut milk and maybe add some chocolate chips to the mix. I’ll let you know how it tastes when I do!

6 thoughts on “Vegan Coffee Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Coffee Ice Cream Pie with Chocolate-Espresso Glaze | The Great American Feast

  2. I am going to have to try this in my coffee ice cream pie with chocolate espresso glaze. I bet it will be amazing. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  3. Pingback: Christmas Star or Coffee and Cream Cake anyone? | biscuitbunnyblog

  4. Pingback: Coffee Ice Cream & Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans | The Great American Feast

  5. Pingback: Gelato Fatto in Casa Senza Gelatiera – How To Make Ice Cream Without an Ice Cream Machine | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

  6. Pingback: The best vegan strawberry ice cream | ...by Catriona

Leave a Reply

