Adventures in bathroom renovation: an introduction

Hello my dears! I’d like to reassure you all that I haven’t actually fallen off the face of the planet, I’ve just been sucked into a diy vortex where time seems to lose all meaning…

My Dad and I have been single handedly renovating my bathroom. “Are you crazy?” you ask, well yes, as it turns out! However it is now finished, looks pretty darn good and gives me a while lot of pride and satisfaction knowing that I did all that work myself 🙂 Oh, and cost about 1/5 of getting it done professionally and I learned a whole load of new skills. So I might be crazy, but I’m also now multi-trade! We tackled: demolition, salvage, plumbing, electrics (my dad is an electrical engineer otherwise we would have needed professional help here), plasterboard, filler, tiling, joinery, painting and decorating, interior design, bath sealing, radiator installing, leak fixing, vinyl floor laying, … I think that’s everything!

So over the next few weeks I’ll be sharing my crazy journey, including the useful tips and tricks I learned along the way. For now I will leave you with a picture of the 70s monstrosity I was more than happy to rip out:

image

image

I mean really, in such a small room who chooses a brown suite, bronze swirly tiles and wood panelling?! Bleugh, no thank you!

Leave a Reply

