Coconut, Date and Cinnamon Porridge

Hello all! It has been a pretty rubbish week here in our house and I am very glad to see the back of it! We’ve got a new swimming pool in our garden….from a burst pipe, plumbers who don’t return phone calls, shower switch breaking (now fixed by my Dad: thank you!), everyone has the cold, I’ve also got sinusitis and so have a sore face, and because I’m feeling so rubbish I’m missing my friend’s hen party. So all in all I’m very glad that it’s the weekend and that my lovely husband has taken young sir out for lunch to give me a break 🙂

To start the weekend off on a better note, I decided to make myself a yummy breakfast. It was really simple, very tasty and I’m definitely going to make it again! The recipe below is for 1 so just scale it up depending how many you are making it for:

  • 1/2 mug porridge oats
  • 1 (and a bit for luck) cups cold water
  • 1 level tbsp soft brown sugar (you could leave this out if you wanted to make it healthier but I felt I needed it today!)
  • a handful of dates (about 8-10), chopped
  • 2 level tbsp desiccated coconut
  • cinnamon to taste, I used about 1/2 – 3/4 tsp

Put the porridge oats and water into a pot and cook over a low/medium heat, stirring frequently to stop it sticking. Don’t have it too hot or you will be spending the rest of the day soaking and scrubbing your pot clean again! When the mixture has started to thicken add the other ingredients and continue to stir until the porridge is cooked. Serve and eat immediately, but don’t burn your tongue! Goes very nicely with a nice cup of tea 🙂

One thought on “Coconut, Date and Cinnamon Porridge

Leave a Reply

